Netizen, continued

Will my blogging never cease? I don’t know, I am minded of this post by Hugh McLeod, from which I reproduce key snippets [what else, tidbits? lemons? apples? oranges?]

5. A lot of serious bloggers became so because frankly, they had too
much time on their hands. And often there were good reasons for that.

6. Blogging is a great way to make things happen indirectly. I say that all the time, and will KEEP saying it till people finally get it [I’m not holding my breath].

7. Far too much time is spent watching people make money directly
off their blogs [e.g. advertising revenues etc], as opposed to
indirectly [e.g. becoming an authority on something, and using said
authority to enhance your already-existing business]. I believe the
latter is a far more pleasant, effective and more likely way to do well.

8. So you a read lot of A-Listers. Congratulations. You now know a lot of stuff everybody else knows.

9. It’s damn hard not to read a lot of A-Listers. They got to where they are for a reason.

10. I hardly ever leave comments on other people’s blogs any more.

11. If somebody makes a harsh remark about me in the comments or
somewhere else, usually my first reaction is to ask, “Yeah, and what is
it THAT YOU DO that is so fucking interesting, Asshole?”

12. Cube-dwellers-with-attitude are pathetic.

[…]

21. Barely a week goes by without me contemplating permanently turning off the comments.

22. How to know you’ve arrived: When you suddenly realise that to
stop blogging would be tantamount to an act of economic suicide. That
moment came for me at Les Blogs 1, in Paris back in early 2005.

23. Another way to know you’ve arrived: When you realize that every
business relationship you’ve established in the last twelve months was
a direct result of blogging.

24. You think A-Listers are arrogant bastards? You should meet the B-List.

25. There is no A-List. If you think there is, you’ve missed the whole point.

26. There is an A-List. Fuck with us and we’ll have you destroyed like stray dogs.

This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Netizen, continued

  1. neelakantan says:

    Nice link to the piece by Hugh. I like this point about using blogging to make things happen indirectly (something I have been thinking about for a longer term). Thanks for the pointer.

  2. KG says:

    Yes, it’s that “indirectly” point that stays with me, too:
    — It’s a verifiable insight (hugh, himself, is a good example).
    — It also provides redirection to all of the bloggers who thought that just showing up on a blog would make them 2.0 rock stars (which it didn’t).
    As the blogosphere paces itself (it’s a marathon, not a sprint — whew!), indirect benefits will become even more important.
    Will I have my blog in 5? 10? 20 years? I don’t know… Will anyone? Can we all keep blogging for such an extended period of time? (That’s a lot of words over a couple of decades!)

  3. niti bhan says:

    I don’t know the answer. let go find out. google is my friend.

Leave a comment