Making Globalization Work

StiglitzbkThis is the cover of the book I picked up at Kinokuniya a couple of days ago. I was surprised to see displays of two different covers – so I flipped through to confirm my guess, and I hate to say this, picked the UK edition. Only in Singapore, would one get to make such a choice.

Making Globalization Work
by Joseph E. Stiglitz has been an eye opener for me. I’m still working my way through it, but Prof. Stiglitz’ introduction, his preface and the friendly style he uses to share his background, his reasons for writing this book and what it means not just to him but to all of us, made me wish very much that he had a blog. He writes for the reader, conversationally, sharing his opinion in a highly personalized way that makes one feel that he’s talking just to you. http://link

As economics tomes go, I am guessing that this tone of voice is rare. I’ve never been much for heavy reading and shy away from the ponderous and the pontificating, filled with dry facts, charts and data.

Prof. Stiglitz on the other hand, drew me into his world with his very first words and I’m writing this post in response to the thoughts his writing awoke in my mind by the time I’d finished Chapter Two. Here is what I thought,

OMG, I had no clue that this was what the problem with globalization was all about. How ignorant I’ve been of one of the most crucial issues facing us all today. I can’t believe I simply assumed that globalization meant just business and the flow of capital, I can’t believe that after reading Jared Diamond and Amartya Sen, I never connected the dots. Even worse, what kind of fool was I, imagining that after all that we talk about regarding socio economic development in the bottom of the pyramid, I never took the trouble to find out exactly why Korean farmers commit suicide in Hong Kong or protestors gather in Seattle.

A light went on in my head.

And that is what great teachers are for…

This entry was posted in Books, Business, Design, India/China/Asia. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making Globalization Work

  1. globalization and it’s discontents is a solid read as well

Leave a Reply

