Third world passport, first world brand experience

Icd_10a_mohan_singh_passport
I’ve struggled with my passport every time I go into a big imposing consulate or embassy building to obtain a visa in order to travel since it’s an Indian passport. But today I had an unusually pleasant experience at the Consulate-General of the Republic of Singapore in San Francisco.

I had a couple of errors in my documentation, for the most part due to the changes that had taken place since the last time I’d applied. Now I need a letter from my dad inviting me to Singapore to visit him. Hee!

Cheap thrills aside, the lady at the counter was friendly, I didn’t have to stand in a line [I was the only one there] and she even waited for me to get exact change since she didn’t have a tenner. She even gave me her email address and phone number to follow up with her to ensure the documents were received [I have asked them to fax it to the consulate].

If the very first impression of a country that a foreign visitor get is at the embassy or consulate or high commission in their homeland, as an aspect of the user experience of the national brand, then I hereby crown Singapore as the best one yet.

this post will continue…

This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

