What is this flat world really? the emergence of global humankind

From the corner of my eye, while surfing the net in the usual course of my work, i’ve been noticing small things. Ones that lead me to write this post, the time for the internet to grow up has come.

Just over 10 years ago, I was first introduced to the world wide web visually and I was hooked. Over the years, I’ve seen it grow and evolve into its current complex shape and size and sheer immensity of content. I’ve also struggled over the years with trying to stay in control of my internet experience. By that I mean being able to find what I need to find, whether images or text, in this vast repository of data, news, information and analysis.

To add the complexity, the internet also evolved for me as a community, a place, a virtual playground of the mind to hang out in. For example, Craigslist forums, Core77 community boards, metafilter, and this blog too, are all places where we convivially converge for conversations. Yes, I know, I have a debilitating weakness for alliterations.

So what’s my point?

Well, as a science fiction fan, my mind is racing around ideas as far out as declaring independence from the ‘real world’ or the ‘meatspace’, particularly enticing for those of us who conduct our business online, almost wholly and completely. I mean this day had to come.

Or we could simply just begin talking to each other, like we already do, and realize that there are millions of us across the world, all of whom are talking to each other already. Em isn’t it time we realized we’re all interconnected on this internet world and have created a life here already. Second Life is a redundant joke. I’m sorry, I truly appreciate the effort into creating it, but is it not just a mirror within a mirror version of the world wide web?

Here is my cafe, damien, and nibby bring the vodka.

This entry was posted in Business, Design, India/China/Asia, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is this flat world really? the emergence of global humankind

  1. I am glad you made this point, this online life is a second life, a parallel life. But now we should try to make sure we understand which one is still more important and how this one here (the online) can help make our analogue life better. And maybe since you mention all the millions of people that are interconnected we should also try to always find ways to be generous with our ideas, creativity and power to bring change for the people who are still not able to participate.

  2. niti bhan says:

    but of course, manuel. thank you for your insightful comment. and welcome, would like some some coffee, wine or a glass of cognac?

Leave a Reply

