Exercise in communication

After my previous post on jargon free communication I was inspired to play around with concepts that I take for granted but have just discovered maybe impenetrable to someone across the table from me.

So, what do I do, in plain language? I’m going to attempt an articulation as though I have to explain my interest area to my mom.

A company offers a product or a service for sale. They currently conduct business in their home market. Their customers probably know them, are aware of their reputation and the quality of their product or service. It is likely they have been around for some time. Now they find that they need to enter new locations to continue growing their business, a foreign market. How do they enter and how do they establish themselves in this new market where their name may not be known at all, where they might be the strangers? How do they ensure that they are able to communicate with prospective customers in their new market in order to get new business and build a reputation, especially if there are significant language or cultural difference between their new locations and their home base?

What do you think? Does this manage to articulate the issues I’ve recently been talking about on this blog adequately without the use of any buzzwords?

This entry was posted in Business. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Exercise in communication

  1. I’m just joining this conversation now, so I’m not familiar with what you’ve written on the subject before. Even so, I just wanted to say that I feel the paragraph you wrote above was indeed very clear and precise without resorting to “buzzwords.” I guess jargon-free communication can be a reality after all!

  2. niti bhan says:

    Thank you so much!!! I truly appreciate your feedback and kind words… I guess you could say I’ve written more or less the same thing, but using jargon 🙂 sprinkling “revenue”, “leveraging”, “paradigm” , “design thinking” etc
    Your response is very heartening and inspires me to continue my efforts to write in such a manner. I must confess however that when I was trying to compose the paragraph, I didn’t realise how difficult it was for me to find simpler terms to express the concepts. I kept finding myself wanting to use the ‘jargon’.
    And if we’re truly to be able to communicate across borders, then it becomes all the more important to simplify our language, no?

  3. Hi Niti
    I liked the paragraph you have written. Being doing almost the same thing that you are dooing i must say i totally realise the importance to speak this kind of Jargon free language to communicate our point and prespective to the people who do not belong to this “design” environment. Later what is more difficult is to convince clients that you need to do your homework before you jump into emerging market. Just customisation and minor tweaks to the product may not help. To do this we cannot just use our fancy ‘design’ language. We need to talk in a language that they understand “The MBA Style”.

  4. Tasos Calantzis says:

    Niti
    Nice paragraph. A friend of the family who is an English professor has been hammering us for years to use Plain English. It’s a struggle beacause so much jargon is intended to be shorthand, speeding communication. So you risk becoming long winded as you try to explain yourself without any shortcuts. Nonetheless we’ve succeeded and we continue to try harder. It’s been well worth it and now you throw down a greater challenge; eliminating “barrier” words like design. Hang on, this may turn out to be a great idea! We’ll start using it immediately and your check is in the mail…;)

  5. niti bhan says:

    Send me a ticket and show me around instead… I’ve always wanted to see your part of the world. Must be a non violent thing 😛

Leave a Reply

