Why me?

"I’m not asking your advice because I need help coming up with a tried
and true, predictable, safe or proven idea. No, I’ve already tried all
of those and they didn’t work. I’m asking your help in finding
something creative, untested, unproven, off the wall, risky,
fashionable and challenging. Don’t let me down. Don’t hesitate to share
your crazy idea… it might just be the one."

Seth Godin deconstructs the question "Can you help me with this?" and articulates the real question being asked, particularly in the context of business and innovation and all of that fun stuff today.

I liked it because it articulates what our clients are really looking for from us when they come to us for help. Else why on earth would someone be willing to pay you for your time?

I know what Seth is saying here but I would add a caveat to this concept – crazy ideas are not enough – you also need to back them up with an implementable strategy supported by viable tactics and of course, the numbers, to really make a difference to the bottomline.

The really crazy ideas are the ones that work in the real world. Which is different from being untested and unproven – prototyping them, pilot testing them, trying them out in bite size pieces to minimize the risk involved can make the craziest idea worth your while.

I hate to drag in my favourite topic of entering a foreign market here but if the shoe fits… because what struck me about Seth’s words is how well they fit into the context of entering an unknown market.

"I’m asking your help in finding
something creative, untested, unproven, off the wall, risky,
fashionable and challenging
."

More on this as I ponder…

This entry was posted in Business, Design, India/China/Asia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

