The Indian Consumer; sliced, diced and julienned

I’ve been swamped with a lovely but intense short term project, on emerging markets, woo hoo! Just came across this blogpost by Anand Sridharan on an article written by Rama Bijapurkar, on the Indian consumer. Worth every penny if you buy and certainly worth the look at Sridharan’s reasonably informative post. Here’s the image that caught my eye.

Durable

Why? Bijapurkar is arguably India’s best known market researcher, no small task in that populous, clamouring and vast country with so many languages, micro cultures and societies. Probably the only thing you can generalize across the humongous Indian population is that they’re homo sapiens. Just about.

I have had the pleasure of being interviewed by Rama Bijarpurkar about 12 or 15 years ago, when I was just starting out in my career. They turned me down, they didn’t think I was suited for market research. I’m so glad they figured me out better than I had, back then. I ended up in ‘chief cook and bottle washer’ type of account management characterized by small design studios, below the line activity divisions of large advertising agencies and independent consulting – a jack of all trades, from copy writing to media buying.

Anyway, that was then, and this is now, nostalgia aside, by everything I can make out, this report is the most valuable thing to come out of India this year, by far. Everything you wanted to know about India without actually sitting there to help create advertising, marketing campaigns, brand strategies, new product design and services for her enticing markets.

And no, this isn’t a paid plug 🙂 Rama Bijarpurkar has decades of experience and has built a reputable brand within the Indian marketing and advertising industry, if my memory serves me correctly.

Note: I wrote this out before I clicked through to her site and realized she’s now positioned, quite rightly, I’d say, as a market strategist for India.

This entry was posted in Business, Design, India/China/Asia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

