My passport culture

After writing my previous post, I continued to think about the culture crossing aspect of my identity, of my sense of who I am and it struck me that I had chosen to keep continuous, through the peripatetic decades, my ‘passport culture’, that of my passport’s nationality, which is Indian.

Or is it?

Couldn’t it be said that my passport’s culture encompasses every port of entry, every stamp, every funky looking, multicoloured visa, every residency permit, every legal right that I possess?

So it isn’t so much my ‘passport country’ that provides the frame of reference for culture, society, rules of behaviour, a ‘cultural identity’ if you will, but the countries in my passport.

Sounds trite doesn’t it?

But it’s so much the root of the global nomad conundrum and continued search for an anchoring identity, socially.

This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

