Metaphysical Metaphors

Seems like I’m on a writing binge today. Making up for lost time I guess, heh, since I’ve been slower and more ponderous of late. But hey, gotta make hay while the sun shines. Though if you ask me, what’s with the hailstorms in San Francisco? What next? Snow?

Anyhoo, back to me writing. I was reminded of a moment in time, about 22 years ago, when I was newly arrived in New Delhi after graduating from high school. I remember the first time I heard the word ‘metaphysics’ and it was explained to me. I was visiting childhood friends from Malaysia, who had also moved to Delhi, albeit a few years before me. And I got into a discussion with their Uncle who’d once been a diplomat in the Indian Embassy in DC, on gender – does a soul have a gender? Or is it just the body?

Yes, scientists have found fundamental differences in the male brain and the female brain, however, the question’s roots lie in an earlier question: Did the soul come first or the mind? For, as a 16 year old I would argue this point with my friend, who was then 15. Yes, we were very strange teenagers, who would spend hours in his bedroom, debating such questions, no other thoughts in our minds. Oy! I wonder if any global nomad is ever a genuine teenager – or does a highly mobile childhood rob us of our adolescence? I remember him as a tortured poet and painter, struggling with his own dual heritage of cultures.

Anyway, I was reminded of that fiery teenager, contemplating the mysteries of the universe, in the course of my pondering the halcyon days of my youth – you’ll notice the trend of my thoughts today, obviously still contemplating 40 🙂 Life was easier when you’re fourteen, why are we in such a hurry to grow up?

This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Metaphysical Metaphors

  1. neelakantan says:

    “Roaring forties” indeed! Your touching 40 theme is getting better n better 😉

  2. niti bhan says:

    Ha ha! Neelakantan, you’ve created a monster – guess my theme now for this week, while I’m here… you guys will be sick of ‘contemplating 40’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

