Eight years ago, today.

So I looked at the calender today – I have a lunch appointment – and recognized the date. Eight years ago, today, on February 22nd 1998, I took the first seven steps that would bring me on a very long journey to this place, San Francisco and time, 2006.

On February 28th 1998 I arrived at Pittsburgh International Airport, via Heathrow, from New Delhi, India. My first trip to the United States; it was a one way ticket on British Airways. Time flies when you’re busy holding body and soul together.

I knew that I would have to start over on this new continent, aptly called the New World. And I also knew that it would take 6 or 7 years to get to where I was at, professionally, in New Delhi back in 1997. And that is what it took – it was exactly 7 years, last summer, when I packed up and moved to San Francisco. There is something to be said for that.

Thank you to all my friends, old – you know who you are, and new – through business school and work. It’s not easy starting over in a new country, continent, in your thirties, without the ties of friends and family close by (or at least less than 8 time zones away). But dayummmm, I rock, if I say so myself! *grins*

This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Eight years ago, today.

  1. Lynn says:

    You are a very brave woman, aren’t you?
    How did you plucked up your courage to do so?

  2. niti bhan says:

    Lynn
    so good to see you here! Plucking up courage is not so difficult if you take a moment to look at your options and pick and choose which one makes the most sense for you. Then you must simply do it 🙂 And I know you can do it,too.

  3. Lynn says:

    Thankyou for your encouragement. =)
    3 steps?
    LISTING –> SELECTING –> ACTION-ING –> Amazing surprises awaiting

  4. niti bhan says:

    There, you see! You have created a process flowchart for it 🙂

Leave a Reply

