Confucious, he say…

I’m on a roll today, ideas, thoughts and writing from some unknown wellspring within. Anyway, reading Dan Gillmor’s blog brought these words from Steve Job’s Stanford Commencement address to my notice and in heartfelt words, he elaborates on my favourite saying from Confucious.

You’ve got to find what you love, and that is as true for work as it
is for your lovers. Your work is going to fill a large part of your
life, and the only way to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe
is great work, and the only way to do great work is to love what you
do. If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking, and don’t settle. As
with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it, and like
any great relationship it just gets better and better as the years roll
on. So keep looking. Don’t settle.

Well said. I have a plaque that has travelled around with me since I first came apon it twenty years ago:

Find a job you love and you never have to work a day in your life.

That’s what I am doing now with this step into the unknown. Working for myself, doing the things I love, it’s all just play to me, and to get paid for it? Gravy.

NB: Just found the entire commencement address and am blown away by this,

Again, you can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect
them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow
connect in your future. You have to trust in something – your gut,
destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down,
and it has made all the difference in my life.

Or in Frost’s immortal words, "I took the road less travelled by and that has made all the difference"

This entry was posted in Business, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

