Last Day

Today was my last day at work. Not just that, for the foreseen future, that was my last day as a fulltime employee with insurance and medical benefits. I walked the halls today and peered into classrooms. I was saying goodbye.

What surprised me was the number of people who responded with good wishes when I sent an announcement out to those newly admitted students who will only join us in the Fall. For many of them, I was the face of ID. One actually said she had been looking forward to my being there. I would if I could, but I can’t so I won’t. I wish I’d taken more required classes not just electives. But I cannot regret having taken lots of John Heskett, almost as though I knew he was leaving. And Larry Keeley’s Design Planning was unforgettable. We were asked to create a business plan based on one of 11 postindustrial platforms which included enlightenment, simplicity, political freedom etc. We chose enlightenment.

This entry was posted in Business, Design, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last Day

  1. Nate B. says:

    Your entry reminds me of the “Change or Die” May 2005 issue of Fast Company. This issue also had a debut section of the “25 Top Women Business Builders” (hint, hint). You’re going West. Gutsy move. You go girl! Glad to have caught you when I was at ID. BTW, it’s apparent you adored the design planning coursework. You embraced one of Keeley’s favorite concepts: “pattern recognition.”

  2. Niti says:

    Nate,
    Pattern recognition is a skill I possessed prior to attending that class at age 36 *grin* but I must admit that it was in his class that I saw the possibilities of such a skill beyond putting 5000 piece jigsaw puzzles together 🙂 The quote “Perspective is pattern recognition plus experience” is from a Fast Company article on “Star Qualities” 😛

Leave a Reply

